We are thrilled to present the Rotary Club of Healdsburg Sunrise’s 11th annual Teacher Appreciation Recognition. Each year we celebrate those teachers and staff who have inspired our students and their peers and who have been nominated by the principals of the Healdsburg Unified School District and Westside Elementary School.  This year’s recognition holds special significance as we honor those who have risen to the challenges of educating our community’s children during a pandemic while also navigating the health, safety, financial, social and educational concerns of their own families.  As you can agree, this was no normal year.  Also joining us today are our elected officials and their representatives who have also met the same challenges while guiding our community through this pandemic and who will make their presentations honoring our special guests. 


Joining us to present their special commendations shortly were:  

  • Senator Mike McGuire, representing California’s 2nd Senate District,

  • Will Tesconi, Field Representative for Assemblyman Jim Wood, representing the 2nd Assembly District,

  • Jenny Chamberlain, Chief of Staff for James Gore, our Fourth District Supervisor,

  • Evelyn Mitchell, Mayor of Healdsburg and 

  • Chris Vanden Heuvel, Superintendent who has supported this program through the years.


Our award recipients for 2021 were:

  • Kelly Mace, Counselor at Healdsburg High School

  • Gloria Hurtado, mathematics teacher and chair at Healdsburg Jr High School

  • Aida Pacheco, lead teacher and tutorial coordinator at Healdsburg Elementary School

  • Irma Figueroa, third-grade teacher at Healdsburg Elementary School’s Fitch Mountain Campus

  • Teresa Brooks, sixth-grade teacher at Westside Elementary School


Read the full program with photos of our award winners and testimonials here: http://bit.ly/2021HBGTeachers

Watch the recording here: https://youtu.be/WrfFIrmUJSk